МАГ/The International Association for the Humanities     ЖУРНАЛ МЕЖДУНАРОДНОЙ АССОЦИАЦИИ ГУМАНИТАРИЕВ

Volume 2, Issue 7 (10), Октябрь 2013

Twitter ButtonGoogle+ ButtonFacebook Button

Лауреаты Ассоциации славянских, восточноевропейских и евразийских исследований (ASEEES) за 2013 г. / The Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies congratulates the winners of the 2013 ASEEES Prizes

Distinguished Contributions to Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies Award:
Ronald Grigor Suny, University of Michigan and University of Chicago (Emeritus)

Wayne S. Vucinich Book Prize for the most important contribution to Russian, Eurasian, and East European studies in any discipline of the humanities or social sciences:
Jeremy Hicks, First Films of the Holocaust: Soviet Cinema and the Genocide of the Jews, 1938-1946 (University of Pittsburgh Press).

University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies for outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the fields of literary and cultural studies: Jan Plamper, The Stalin Cult: A Study in the Alchemy of Power (Yale University Press).

Reginald Zelnik Book Prize in History for outstanding monograph published on Russia, Eastern Europe or Eurasia in the field of history:
Scott Ury, Barricades and Banners: The Revolution of 1905 and the Transformation of Warsaw Jewry(Stanford University Press).

Honorable Mention: Jonathan Bolton, Worlds of Dissent: Charter 77, The Plastic People of the Universe, and Czech Culture under Communism (Harvard University Press).
Honorable Mention: Christina Ezrahi, Swans of the Kremlin: Ballet and Power in Soviet Russia (University of Pittsburgh Press).

Davis Center Book Prize in Political and Social Studies for outstanding monograph on Russia, Eurasia, or Eastern Europe in anthropology, political science, sociology, or geography:
Gerald Easter, Capital, Coercion, and Postcommunist States (Cornell University Press).

Honorable Mention: Sonia Hirt, Iron Curtains: Gates, Suburbs and Privatization of Space in the Post-Socialist City (Wiley-Blackwell).

Ed A Hewett Book Prize for outstanding publication on the political economy of the centrally planned economies of the former Soviet Union and East Central Europe and their transitional successors:
Gerald Easter, Capital, Coercion, and Postcommunist States (Cornell University Press)

Marshall Shulman Book Prize for outstanding monograph dealing with the international relations, foreign policy, or foreign-policy decision-making of any of the states of the former Soviet Union or Eastern Europe:
Ted Hopf, Reconstructing the Cold War: The Early Years, 1945-1958 (Oxford University Press).

Honorable Mention: Rinna Kullaa, Non-Alignment and its Origins in Cold War Europe: Yugoslavia, Finland, and the Soviet Challenge (I.B. Tauris).

Barbara Jelavich Book Prize for distinguished monograph published on any aspect of Southeast European or Habsburg studies since 1600, or nineteenth- and twentieth-century Ottoman or Russian diplomatic history:
Mary Neuburger, Balkan Smoke: Tobacco and the Making of Modern Bulgaria (Cornell University Press).

Kulczycki Book Prize for Polish Studies for best book in any discipline, on any aspect of Polish affairs:
Beth Holmgren, Starring Madame Modjeska: On Tour in Poland and America (Indiana University Press).

Graduate Student Essay Prize for outstanding essay by a graduate student in Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies:
Yulia Mikhailova, “‘Christians and Pagans’ in the Chronicles of Pre-Mongolian Rus: Beyond the Dichotomy of ‘Good Us’ and ‘Bad Them,’” University of New Mexico.

The Robert C. Tucker/Stephen F. Cohen Dissertation Prize, sponsored by the JKW Foundation, is awarded annually for an outstanding English-language doctoral dissertation in Soviet or Post-Soviet politics and history in the tradition of historical political science and political history by Robert C. Tucker and Stephen F. Cohen, defended at an American or Canadian university:
Michael Westren, “Nations in Exile: The ‘Punished Peoples’ in Soviet Kazakhstan, 1941-1961,” University of Chicago, 2012.

CLIR Distinguished Service Award, recognizes ASEEES member librarians, archivists or curators whose contributions to the field of Slavic, East European and Eurasian studies librarianship have been especially noteworthy or influential:
Nadia Zilper, UNC-Chapel Hill Head of Global Resources and Area Studies and Curator of Slavic and East European Collections and the Andre Savine Collection (Ret).

Comments are closed.